Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board serves in an honorary capacity and provides guidance on the role and operations of the Centre.

Dr Wendy Craik AM FTSE

Dr Craik has over 30 years experience in senior roles public policy. She has been a Commissioner of the Productivity Commission, Chief Executive of the Murray-Darling Basin, Executive Director of the National Farmers Federation, and Executive officer of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority. She has been on a range of boards including as President of the National Competition Council, Chair of the Climate Change Authority, the Australian Fisheries Management Authority, NSW Marine Estate Management Authority and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation. Board member roles include the Reserve Bank, Australian Institute of Marine Science, Australian Farm Institute and Dairy Australia. She was Deputy Chancellor of the University of South Australia. She is currently Chair of the OneBasin CRC, a board member of the Crawford Fund, the Australian Infrastructure Financing Facility of the Pacific and Chair of the Advisory Board of the Royal Australian Mint.

Wendy was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia in 2007 for service to the natural resource sector of the economy, particularly in the areas of fisheries, marine ecology and management of water reform, and contributions to policies affecting rural and regional Australia.

Kerri Hartland

Kerri Hartland is the Director General of the Australian Secret Intelligence Service (ASIS). She was formerly the Secretary of the Department of Employment, Skills Small & Family Business. Before her appointment as a Secretary in 2007 she held the position of Deputy Secretary, Business Enabling Services at Department of Finance. Kerri brings extensive experience at senior levels having worked in eight different Commonwealth departments and agencies. This includes as Chief Information Officer of the then Department of Industry, Science and Resources; Deputy Secretary of the Department of Human Services, where she led amongst other things Service Delivery Reform; and Deputy Director-General of ASIO. Kerri started life as a journalist and also spent a year working in the Canadian public service.

Greg Taylor AO

Greg Taylor has had extensive experience with the interface between administrative and political government, across a wide span of policy and administrative issues and a broad range of agencies.

He has held senior positions in the Commonwealth Treasury, the Office of National Assessments and the Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet. He was Chairman of the Industries Assistance Commission, and Secretary of the Commonwealth Departments of Employment, Education & Training, Primary Industries & Energy, and Industry Science & Tourism. He has held a number of directorships in both the public and private sectors. He was Executive Director for Australia at the International Monetary Fund, representing also a range of other Pacific & Asian countries at the IMF.

Helen Williams AC

Helen served in a wide range of Commonwealth Government Departments over 40 years and is a former Secretary of five Australian Government Departments: Education and Youth Affairs, Tourism, Immigration and Multicultural Affairs, Communications, IT and the Arts, and Human Services. She also served as Australian Public Service Commissioner and Australian Parliamentary Services Commissioner, and was Head of the Commonwealth-State Relations Secretariat from 1990 to 1993.

She was the first woman to be appointed as Secretary to an Australian Government Department.

Helen has been a member of a number of Boards and Committees including Telstra Corporation Ltd., The Australian Postal Corporation, the Administrative Review Council, the National Library of Australia Council, the Australian Sports Commission Board, the Australia Council for the Arts, Bundanon Trust, the Migrant Agents Regulation Advisory Board, the National Archives Advisory Council and the Bell Shakespeare Theatre Company. She is currently a member of the Board of the Origin Foundation.

Helen has undertaken a number of reports for government and efficiency reviews of public service departments, and is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and the Australian Institute of Public Administration. She was awarded an AO for services to public administration, particularly in the areas of education and social welfare. In 2019, she was made a Companion of the Order of Australia for eminent service to public administration through senior advisory roles, and to policy reform and innovative program delivery.